Displacement and poverty a chronic disease that affects Syrians

Although the COVID-19 pandemic is the most dangerous for the lives of civilians in northwest Syria, many other challenges are facing them, such as poverty, unemployment, homelessness, and lack of basic services.

Between displacement and extreme poverty… What are the conditions of displaced families in northern Syria?

What is not hidden from the world is the tragic conditions in which the vast majority of the population of northwest Syria live, where the war has displaced thousands and left them facing one crisis after another.

The suffering began with the forced displacement imposed by the war due to the difficulty of securing housing, as the majority of the displaced sought refuge in the camps despite the difficulty of living there, while others chose to live in houses in the northern Syrian towns despite the high wages, which are estimated at 50 US dollars for the average house.

In a relatively small area where nearly four million people live, including more than 2.1 million displaced people, most of them live in camps where unemployment and poverty have spread, threatening the lives of hundreds of families there, as most families are now under the poverty line.

Humanitarian and international organizations have long warned that food insecurity has reached its peak in Syria, where the United Nations World Food Program stated in February 2021 that 12.4 million Syrians struggle to obtain food, which means that 60% of Syrians suffer from Food insecurity.

Unemployment in northern Syria

It has become the dream of the breadwinner of the family to get enough work to secure a livelihood for his family. Where the high population density, which resulted in a lack of job opportunities, in addition to the loss of most of the livelihoods of the displaced, such as agricultural land, after it was occupied by the regime forces and Russia, increased the suffering of the displaced.

According to a study issued by the Support Coordination Unit in April 2021, the percentage of males between the ages of 20-45 years who work and have job opportunities in northern Syria reached 59% of the total males, while the percentage of working females reached 32% of the same age group.

The study added that the sources of income for civilians in northern Syria vary, as 9% of workers depend on work in the education sector, while 8% of them depend on professions and seasonal agriculture, and 6% of them depend on self-employment. Small trade and livestock in addition to work in humanitarian, medical, and other organizations.

It should be noted that the region needs immediate and radical solutions to eliminate the high unemployment rates and the scarcity of job opportunities. Among those solutions that may have an impact on the region are supporting small projects that may contribute to securing job opportunities for many civilians, in addition to vocational education, and supporting specialized projects in this field.

Corona pandemic exacerbates the situation in northern Syria

The “Covid-19” Pandemic that swept northwest Syria has claimed hundreds of lives and paralyzed the departments of the medical sector.

The latest statistics of the Early Warning Network showed that the number of deaths of “Covid-19”, as of Tuesday, October 26, reached 1,757 deaths and that the total number of infected people rose to 86,944. As for today, the numbers of injuries are no longer accurate due to the inefficiency of examination procedures, in addition to the Scarcity of medical materials and oxygen cylinders and overcrowding of nursing beds.

 

In the densely populated camps that lack the minimum necessities of life, the Corona pandemic began to penetrate quickly there, followed by a noticeable increase in the number of people infected with the virus, since the preventive measures were hard to implement

With the closure of most hospitals supported by humanitarian organizations, people have had to go to private hospitals and clinics, which has caused a new economic burden on them, as well as those with serious diseases for which there is no treatment in the region, and it is often difficult to transfer them to Turkey for treatment.

(1) Assistance coordination unit

For more information or press interview requests, please contact: [email protected]

Support us

$
Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: 100.00$

Secured Payment

التهجيرُ والفقر أوبئةٌ تنخر جسد السوريين

رغم أن وباء كورونا “كوفيد-19” هو الوباء الأكثر فتكا وتهديداً لحياة المدنيين في شمال غرب سوريا إلا أن المعاناة لم تقتصر على ذلك الجانب فحسب فمعاناة المدنيين هناك باتت تحاصرهم من جميع الجوانب بدءاً من فيروس كورونا ووصولاً إلى معاناتهم مع الفقر و البطالة والتشرد وضعف الخدمات.

ما هي أوضاع العائلات المهجرة في الشمال السوري..؟

لربما لم تعد تخفى على أحد تلك الأوضاع المأساوية والحالة المزرية التي وصلت إليها الغالبية العظمى من سكان شمال غرب سوريا ممن تركت الحرب آثارها عليهم فشردت مئات الآلاف من منازلهم وتركتهم يقاسون المصاعب في حياتهم، ويجابهون الأزمةَ تلوَ الأخرى.

وكانت بدايةً المعاناة بعد الهجرة التي سببتها الحرب هي تأمين المسكن حيث اختار غالبية النازحين اللجوء إلى المخيمات رغم مرارة ذلك القرار نظراً لصعوبة العيش هناك، في حين اختار آخرون العيش في منازل داخل مدن وبلدات الشمال السوري، لكن تلك المنازل شكلت عائقاً جديداً أمامهم نظراً لارتفاع أجور المنازل والتي تقدر وسطياً ب 50 دولار أمريكي للمنزل المتوسط.

وفي منطقة صغيرة نسبياً يعيش فيها ما يقارب أربعة ملايين نسمة من بينهم أكثر من 2.1 مليون نازح معظمهم يعيش في المخيمات استشرت فيها البطالة و الفقر مهددةً حياة مئات العوائل هناك، في حين بات الأمن الغذائي في تلك المنطقة يشكل خطراً نتيجة ارتفاع الأسعار ونقص فرص العمل، وباتت معظم العوائل تقبع تحت خط الفقر.

ولطالما حذرت المنظمات الإنسانية والدولية من أن انعدام الأمن الغذائي بلغ ذروته في سوريا حيث قال برنامج الأغذية العالمي التابع للأمم المتحدة في شباط/فبراير 2021 أن 12.4 مليون سوري يعانون من أجل الحصول على الطعام مما يعني أن 60% من السوريين يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي.

البطالة تستشري شمال سوريا

بات حلماً أن يحصل الشابُ أو رب الأسرة في شمال غرب سوريا على عمل يكفيه لقوت عياله ومستلزمات منزله، فالأسعار التي تواصل الارتفاع و الكثافة السكانية العالية والتي خلقت شحاً في فرص العمل بالإضافة لخسارة معظم المهجرين مصادر رزقهم كالأراضي الزراعية بعد احتلال قوات النظام وروسيا لها زادوا من حدة معاناة أولئك المهجرين.

ووفق دراسة صدرت عن وحدة تنسيق الدعم في نيسان/أبريل 2021 بلغت نسبة الذكور الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 20-45 سنة و الذين يعملون و لديهم فرص عمل في شمال سوريا 59%من إجمالي الذكور، في حين بلغت نسبة الإناث العاملات 32% لذات الأعمار.

وأضافت الدراسة أن مصادر دخل المدنيين في الشمال السوري متفاوتة حيث يعتمد 9 % من العاملين على العمل في قطاع التعليم، بينما يعتمد 8% منهم على المهن و الزراعات الموسمية، ويعتمد 6% منهم على الأعمال الحرة والتجارة الصغيرة وتربية المواشي والعمل في المنظمات الإنسانية و الطبية وغيرها.

يذكر أن المنطقة تحتاج لحلول فورية للقضاء على تلك النسب العالية من البطالة و عدم توافر فرص العمل ومن تلك الحلول والتي ربما سيكون لها أثر كبير في المنطقة دعم المشاريع الصغيرة والتي قد تساهم في تأمين فرص عمل للعديد من المدنيين، بالإضافة للتوجه للتعليم المهني ودعم المشاريع المتخصصة في هذا المجال.

وباء كورونا يفاقم المعاناة

لم يكن وباء “كوفيد-19” والذي انتشر بشكل مخيف مؤخراً في شمال غرب سوريا آخر الأوبئة ولا أولها، لكنه اتخذ منحناً خطيراً ليحصد أرواح العشرات، ويهدد حياةَ مئات الآلاف، عدا عن تسببه بشلل في القطاع الطبي ومعاناة المدنيين بعد ذلك الشلل حيث كان يعتمد جلهم على المستشفيات والمراكز الطبية عند حالات المرض.

وأظهرت آخر إحصائيات شبكة الإنذار المبكر أن أعداد وفيات مرضى “كوفيد-19” بلغوا حتى يوم الثلاثاء 26 تشرين الثاني/اكتوبر 1757 وفاة، وأن أعداد المصابين الإجمالية ارتفعت إلى 86 ألف و 944 إصابة، ولم تسجل مؤخراً أعداد كبيرة من الإصابات نظراً لقلة المواد المستخدمة في فحص المصابين، عدا عن شح في المواد الطبية واسطوانات الأوكسجين وانشغال كامل لأسرة العناية في المستشفيات.

وفي منطقة جل سكانها من المهجرين القاطنين في مخيمات ذات كثافة سكانية عالية و خيام ملتصقة تفتقر لأدنى مقومات الحياة ووسائل النظافة كمشاريع المياه والصرف الصحي كان وباء كورونا يتغلغل بسرعة هناك وكانت إجراءات الوقاية مستحيلة التطبيق مما تسبب في ازدياد كبير في أعداد المصابين بالفيروس.

ومع إغلاق معظم المستشفيات المدعومة من قبل المنظمات أصبح على الأهالي التوجه للمستشفيات والعيادات الخاصة عند حالات المرض، ما سبب عائقاً اقتصادياً جديداً لديهم وتكاليف أخرى هم كانوا بغنى عنها، عدا عن معاناة كبيرة يعانيها أصحاب الأمراض الحرجة والخطرة والتي لا يتوفر علاج لها في المنطقة نظراً لصعوبة نقلهم إلى الأراضي التركية لتلقي العلاج.

 

(1) وحدة التنسيق والدعم 

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلبات المقابلات الصحفية، يرجى التواصل مع: [email protected]

الصندوق العام

$
Personal Info

Donation Total: 25.00$