United Nations Day and International Disarmament Week

Since 1947, the world has been celebrating the twenty-fourth of October as United Nations Day, coinciding with the anniversary of the founding charter of the United Nations approved by the United Nations General Assembly, in order to obtain the support of the people and to publicize the achievements and goals of the United Nations.

In 1971, the United Nations General Assembly adopted Resolution 2782, which declared United Nations Day an international holiday, and recommended that all UN member states celebrate it. Many schools around the world celebrate it, while in some other countries it is considered a public holiday.

What is the Charter of the United Nations?

The Charter of the United Nations, as the founding treaty of the United Nations, became effective on October 24, 1945. The Charter included the objectives of the United Nations, which are to save future generations from the tragedies of war, to support human rights and dignity, to strive for equality and justice, and to guarantee freedoms.

In addition, the Charter of the United Nations affirms the maintenance of peace and security, the development of friendly relations between states based on respect for the principles of equal rights, the achievement of global cooperation to solve international economic, social, and cultural problems, respect, and promotion of human rights, and for the United Nations to become a center through which countries can coordinate their activities to achieve these ends.

What is the United Nations Population Fund and what does it do?

As part of the United Nations and one of its agencies and programmers, the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) celebrates the United Nations Day through which it seeks to establish peace and security and guarantee human rights

The United Nations Population Fund was established in 1967 and came into force two years later, it has a leading role in the United Nations, working in more than 150 countries around the world in many areas, including specialized care for women’s reproductive health.

UNFPA supports pregnant women, especially women facing life-threatening complications, in addition to measures to prevent pregnancy during adolescence, combat child marriage, secure supplies for safe childbirth, train thousands of health workers, as well as preventing gender-based violence.

United Nations Disarmament Week

Starting October 24, this week aims to securing humanity’s future by promoting awareness of disarmament issues, ending armed conflicts, and reducing tensions.

The United Nations established in January 1988 the Office for Disarmament Affairs, which aims to strengthen the systems of nuclear disarmament and limit its proliferation, as well as the disarmament of weapons of mass destruction, chemical and biological weapons, and conventional weapons.

What did the weapon do in Syria?

For ten years, Syria has been living in a bloody conflict and war that has led to heavy losses in lives and infrastructure, as the Assad regime and its militias have attacked civilians with all kinds of weapons, including internationally prohibited weapons such as chemical weapons.

The Syrian Network for Human Rights documented the killing of 227,413 civilians between March 2011 and March 2021, 87.97% at the hands of the regime forces, while Russia killed 6,860 civilians.

Among the dead, 29,457 children and 28,458 females, in addition to 14,506 people killed under torture, while at least 150,000 people are still under arrest and enforced disappearance.

On the other hand, an economic study prepared by the Syrian Center for Policy Research in May 2020 revealed that the infrastructure losses in Syria during nine years of war amounted to more than 530 billion US dollars, adding that the conflict has caused the displacement of more than 13 million Syrians from their towns and that 2.4 million children inside the country are out of school

Today, at least 1.5 million people live in the camps in northwestern Syria, in tragic economic, health, and service conditions, especially with the new wave of the Corona pandemic “Covid-19”, where the percentage of infections has increased dramatically inside those camps with poor hygiene, water and sanitation projects.

 

For more information or press interview requests, please contact: [email protected]

 

Support us

$
Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: 100.00$

Secured Payment

يوم الأمم المتحدة والأسبوع الأممي لنزع السلاح

تزامناً مع الذكرى السنوية للميثاق التأسيسي للأمم المتحدة يحتفل العالم يوم الرابع والعشرين من تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من كل عام بيوم الأمم المتحدة، ويحتفل بذلك اليوم منذ عام 1947 حيث أقرته الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة لكسب دعم الشعوب وتعريفهم بإنجازات وأهداف الأمم المتحدة.

واتخذت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في عام 1971 قراراً حمل الرقم 2782 والقاضي بإعلان يوم الأمم المتحدة عيداً عالمياً، و أوصت جميع الدول الأعضاء بالأمم المتحدة بالاحتفال به حيث تحتفل العديد من المدارس في دول العالم وفي بعض الدول الأخرى يعتبر عطلةً رسمية.

ما هو ميثاق الأمم المتحدة؟

أصبح ميثاق الأمم المتحدة وهو المعاهدة المؤسسة للأمم المتحدة نافذاً في 24 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1945، وحمل الميثاق أهداف الأمم المتحدة وهي إنقاذ الأجيال القادمة من ويلات الحرب، والإيمان بحقوق الإنسان وكرامته، والسعي لتحقيق المساواة والعدالة ورفع مستوى الحياة في جو من الحرية.

إضافة إلى ذلك يؤكد ميثاق الأمم المتحدة على الحفاظ على السلم و الأمن، وتطوير العلاقات الودية بين الدول على أساس احترام مبادئ الحقوق المتساوية وتقرير المصير للشعوب، وتحقيق التعاون العالمي لحل المشكلات الدولية الاقتصادية و الاجتماعية والثقافية والحقوقية، واحترام وتعزيز حقوق الإنسان، وأن تكون الأمم المتحدة مركزاً يمكن للبلدان تنسيق تحركاتهم و أنشطتهم لتحقيق تلك الغايات.

ما هو صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان وما عمله؟

يحتفل صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان بيوم الأمم المتحدة كونه جزء من الأمم المتحدة، وواحد من وكالاتها وبرامجها، والتي تسعى من خلاله بإحلال السلم و الأمن ودعم أعمال حقوق الإنسان.

تأسس صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان “UNFPA” عام 1967، وبدأ عمله بعد عامين، وله دور رائد في الأمم المتحدة في مجال السكان إذ يعمل في أكثر من 150 من الدول و الأقاليم حول العالم، وينشط في العديد من المجالات منها الرعاية الخاصة بالصحة الإنجابية للنساء في أكثر من 150 بلد.

و يدعم صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان صحة النساء الحوامل خاصةً أولئك النساء اللواتي يواجهن مضاعفات تهدد حياتهن، بالإضافة لتدريب آلاف العاملين في المجال الصحي، والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي، والوقاية من الحمل أثناء المراهقة وإنهاء زواج الأطفال وتوصيل مستلزمات الولادة الآمنة.

أسبوع الأمم المتحدة لنزع السلاح

يعتبر يوم الأمم المتحدة واحداً من أيام أسبوع الأمم المتحدة لنزع السلاح والذي يبدأ في 24 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر وينتهي في 30 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، ويرادُ من هذا الأسبوع تعزيز الوعي وتحسين الفهم بقضايا نزع السلاح وأهميتها الشاملة.

وتسعى الأمم المتحدة خلال أسبوع نزع السلاح ونشاطاته لزيادة وعي الجمهور بقضايا نزع السلاح، والسعي لبناء عالم أكثر أمناً وحماية الناس من الأذى، ومنع الصراعات المسلحة و إنهائها، وحل المشاكل والحد من التوترات.

و أنشأت الأمم المتحدة في كانون الثاني/يناير 1988 مكتباً لشؤون نزع السلاح والذي يهدف لتعزيز نزع السلاح النووي وعدم انتشاره، وتعزيز أنظمة نزع أسلحة الدمار الشامل والأسلحة الكيميائية والبيولوجية، بالإضافة لتعزيز جهود نزع السلاح في مجال الأسلحة التقليدية.

ماذا فعل السلاح بسوريا..؟

عاشت سوريا وما زالت تعيش منذ عشر سنوات صراعاً دامياً وحرباً كلفتها خسائر فادحة في الأرواح والبنية التحتية حيث هاجم نظام الأسد ومن سانده من حكومات ومليشيات المدنيين بكافة الأسلحة، وحاربهم حتى بذرات الأوكسجين بعد قصفهم بالأسلحة الكيميائية.

ووثقت الشبكة السورية لحقوق الإنسان مقتل 227 ألف و 413 مدني في الفترة الممتدة ما بين آذار/مارس 2011 و آذار/مارس 2021، ومن بين أولئك القتلى ما نسبته 87.97% قتلوا على أيدي قوات النظام والمليشيات الموالية، في حين قتلت روسيا بهجماتها على المدنيين 6860 شخص.

ومن بين القتلى خلال السنوات العشرة الأولى على الحرب الدائرة في سوريا هناك 29 ألف و 457 طفل، و 28 ألف و 458 أنثى، بالإضافة لمقتل 14 ألف و 506 أشخاص بسبب التعذيب، في حين لا يزال مالا يقل عن 150 ألف شخص قيد الاعتقال و الاختفاء القسري.

على صعيد آخر كشفت دراسة اقتصادية أعدها المركز السوري لبحوث السياسات في أيار/مايو 2020 أن خسائر البنية التحتية في سوريا بلغت خلال تسع سنوات من الحرب أكثر من 530 مليار دولار أمريكي، و أضافت الدراسة أن النزاع تسبب بخروج أكثر من 13 مليون سوري من بيوتهم نازحين و لاجئين، وأن 2.4 مليون طفل يعيشون خارج المدارس في داخل البلاد.

ويعيش اليوم في مخيمات النازحين في شمال غرب سوريا ما لا يقل عن 1.5 مليون نسمة وسط ظروف اقتصادية و صحية وخدمية مأساوية، إذ أن أولئك النازحين يواجهون موجةً جديدة من وباء كورونا “كوفيد-19” حيث ازدادت نسبة الإصابات بشكل كبير داخل تلك الخيام وسط ضعف مشاريع النظافة والمياه والصرف الصحي فيها.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلبات المقابلات الصحفية، يرجى التواصل مع: [email protected]

الصندوق العام

$
Personal Info

Donation Total: 25.00$