The mental health of children in the camps of northern Syria

It was ten years of war that had a serious impact on children. The war, which brought death, displacement, and horrific memories to their lives left unhealed wounds on their mental health.

What are the risks of deteriorating mental health in children?

As a result of crises and wars, children suffer from psychological problems that affect their behavior. It must be noted that children’s mental health is no less important than physical health, as psychological disorders lead to many problems, including problems in mood, behavior and way of thinking.

Children may suffer from some disorders resulting from the deterioration of their mental health, including “depression” and severe sadness, in addition to “anxiety and attention deficit” and other disorders that affect their learning abilities, in addition to eating disorders, autism spectrum, and enuresis.

These disorders are considered dangerous, especially for adolescents, as they push them to engage in some dangerous behaviors such as drug use, self-harm, and suicidal thinking, in addition to lack of sleep, aggression, lying and refusal to learn.

What are the factors that affect the mental health of children?

Many factors can negatively affect the mental health of children. Most notably, family problems, problems in dealing with friends, or being bullied.

In addition to these factors are poverty, poor financial situation, and a sense of fear caused by wars, in addition to illness or physical disability, ill-treatment, forcible change of residence, the death of loved ones, and other challenges.

Syrian children are vulnerable to psychological crises and the dangers of war

Children are one of the most vulnerable groups in society. In Syria, thousands of children are exposed to the dangers and effects of war, and during the period between March 2011 and 2021, according to the Syrian Network for Human Rights, 29,618 children were killed in Syria, while 181 children were killed under torture, and there are still 4,931 children forcibly disappeared. by the parties to the conflict.

In March 2021, “UNICEF” stated that 90% of children in Syria need support, as the Corona pandemic, the vicious cycle of violence, and the resulting economic crisis are pushing families into the abyss, adding that more than half a million children under the age of five suffer from dwarfism syndrome as a result of malnutrition, and that about 2.45 million children in Syria do not attend school, while the number of children who showed symptoms of psychological and social distress doubled in 2020 as a result of their exposure to violence, intense fear, and trauma.

And in May 2021, the British newspaper, “The Independent”, published a report quoting the Save the Children organization, the rise in the number of children who attempted suicide in northwest Syria, warning of a mental health crisis that would seriously affect children and the difficult conditions in which they live. Children, including poverty and violence, consider that these factors increase suicide attempts.

The newspaper quoted a mental health specialist at the “Hurras Network”, an organization affiliated with ‘Save the Children’ in northern Idlib, as saying that 15% of adult patients have suicidal thoughts, while children express their emotional struggles through their aggressive behavior or tendency to isolate or retaliate.

In a previous report, Save the Children said that the next generation in Syria will grow up suffering from psychological and neurological disorders, as 89% of children in Syria suffer from spiritual wounds that are difficult to heal, and added that 84% of Syrian children suffer from stress, and 81% Of them, they became more aggressive, while 71% of them suffer from enuresis due to psychological crises.

Children with their forcibly displaced families live in camps in northwestern Syria in very difficult humanitarian conditions, as those displaced, who number approximately 1.6 million, including approximately 680,000 children, live in densely populated areas and in camps that lack the most necessities of life.

In conjunction with these crises, the camp residents are currently experiencing a difficult health crisis following a new wave of the Coronavirus “Covid-19” in fear that these camps will turn into a hotbed in which the pandemic will spread after the increase of the number of daily infections and the deficiency of projects related to hygiene, sanitation, and drinking water.

Children also suffer from difficulty receiving education, as most of these camps do not contain schools or educational centers, and the United Nations Children’s Fund “UNICEF” estimates the number of children out of school at 3.2 million children, while the Support Coordination Unit says that 1127 camps in the north do not contain schools, and it is difficult for parents to provide education for their children.

In addition to many problems, including the loss of one of the parents, as thousands of children in the camps live with one of the parents or without both after losing them due to the war, in addition to displacement, poverty, and poor living conditions as the main reason for the deterioration of the mental health of children.

Violet’s response to support children’s mental health in northwestern Syria

Violet organization seeks, through its projects, to support the mental health of children, especially in the camps, in order to respond to children suffering from mental disorders, which have been exacerbated by war, displacement and poverty.

The number of children who received at least 5 sessions of psychosocial support sessions in the city of Idlib reached 1,325 children through Violet Protection’s projects, which include psychosocial support activities, where children are provided with recreational activities in the targeted sites by PSS facilitators who use many PSS activities.

 

(1) UNICEF

(2) The Syrian Network for Human Rights

(3) The Independent newspaper

 

For more information or interview requests, please contact: [email protected]

Support us

$
Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: 100.00$

Secured Payment

الصحة النفسية للأطفال في مخيمات شمال سوريا

كانت العشر سنوات الفائتة ذات وقع مؤلمٍ على الأطفال في سوريا، وقع ستظل ندباته مرافقة لهم لسنوات طويلة، فالحرب وويلاتها والقتل والتشريد وأصوات أسلحة الحرب تركت في نفوسهم جراحاً يصعب دملها، وآلاماً دمرت صحتهم النفسية.

ما هو خطر سوء الصحة النفسية عند الأطفال؟

غالباً ما يعاني الأطفال في الأزمات و الحروب من مشاكل نفسية تغير من سلوكهم و تزيد من مصاعب الحياة عليهم، ولا تقل الصحة النفسية عند الأطفال أهميةً عن الصحة البدنية إذ أن الاضطرابات النفسية تسبب للطفل مشاكل عديدة منها مشاكل في مزاجه وسلوكه وتفكيره.

وقد يعاني الطفل من مجموعة من الاضطرابات بعد سوء صحته النفسية منها “الاكتئاب” والشعور بالحزن، بالإضافة ل “القلق و نقص الانتباه” والعديد من الاضطرابات التي قد تظهر على الأطفال منها اضطرابات ذهنية تؤثر على تعلمه و اضطرابات في الأكل وطيف التوحد وسلس البول.

وتعتبر تلك الاضطرابات خطيرة على بعض الفئات العمرية مثل سن المراهقة واليافعين إذ أنها تدفعهم لبعض السلوكيات الخطيرة مثل تعاطي مواد مخدرة و إيذاء النفس والتفكير بالانتحار، بالإضافة لقلة النوم والعدوانية ورفض التعلم والكذب والتغير المفاجئ في أنماط النوم والطعام.

ما هي العوامل التي تؤثر سلباً على الصحة النفسية للأطفال ؟

يمكن للعديد من العوامل أن تؤثر سلباً على الصحة النفسية للأطفال، وأن تساهم في ظهور الاضطراب النفسي لديهم، ومن أبرز تلك العوامل المشاكل الأسرية وانهيار الأسرة أو مشاكل في العلاقة مع الأسرة أو الأصدقاء أو تعرض الطفل للتنمر.

ويضاف إلى تلك العوامل الفقر وسوء الأوضاع المادية، والشعور بعدم الأمان مثل الخوف الناتج عن الحروب، والمرض أو الإعاقة الجسدية، و سوء المعاملة و الانتقال للعيش من مكان لآخر، وتغيرات أو تحديات الحياة، ووفاة أو فقدان الأحبة.

أطفال سوريا عرضةً للأزمات النفسية و مخاطر الحرب

يعتبر الأطفال من الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً في المجتمع، وفي سوريا تعرض عشرات الآلاف من الأطفال لمخاطر الحرب و آثارها، وخلال الفترة الممتدة بين آذار/مارس 2011 و 2021 قتل في سوريا بحسب الشبكة السورية لحقوق الإنسان 29 ألف و 618 طفل، في حين قتل بسبب التعذيب 181 طفلاً، ولا يزال هناك 4931 طفل مغيبين قسراً على أيدي أطراف النزاع.

وقالت منظمة اليونيسف في آذار 2021 أن 90% من الأطفال في سوريا يحتاجون إلى الدعم، إذ أن جائحة كورونا و العنف و الأزمة الاقتصادية تدفع العائلات إلى الهاوية مضيفةً أن أكثر من نصف مليون طفل دون سن الخمس سنوات في سوريا يعانون من التقزم نتيجة سوء التغذية، وأن حوالي 2.45 مليون طفل في سوريا لا يذهبون إلى المدرسة، في حين تضاعفت أعداد الأطفال الذين ظهرت عليهم أعراض الضيق النفسي والاجتماعي في 2020 اثر تعرضهم للعنف والخوف الشديد والصدمات.

وفي أيار/مايو 2021 نشرت صحيفة “ذي إندبندنت” البريطانية تقريراً نقلت فيه عن منظمة “أنقذوا الأطفال” تسجيل ارتفاع في عدد الأطفال الذين حاولوا الانتحار في شمال غرب سوريا محذرةً من أزمة الصحة النفسية التي من شأنها أن تؤثر على الأطفال بشكل خطير والظروف الصعبة التي يعيشها الأطفال في المنطقة بما في ذلك الفقر ونقص فرص العمل والعنف معتبرةً أن تلك العوامل تزيد محاولات الانتحار.

ونقلت الصحيفة عن اختصاصي في الصحة العقلية في منظمة “هوراس نتورك” التابعة لمنظمة أنقذوا الأطفال في شمال إدلب قوله أن 15% من المرضى البالغين لديهم أفكار انتحارية، بينما يعبر الأطفال عن صراعاتهم العاطفية من خلال سلوكهم العدواني أو الميل إلى الانعزال والانتقام.

وفي تقرير سابق لمنظمة أنقذوا الأطفال قالت أن الجيل القادم في سوريا سيكبر ويعاني من أزمات نفسية و عصبية إذ أن 89% من الأطفال في سوريا يعانون من جراح نفسية يصعب دملها، و أضافت أن 84% من الأطفال السوريين يعانون من الضغط العصبي، و 81% منهم أصبحوا أكثر عدوانية، في حين هناك 71% منهم يعانون من التبول اللاإرادي بفعل الأزمات النفسية.

الصحة النفسية للأطفال في مخيمات الشمال السوري

يعيشُ الأطفال المهجرون قسراً مع عوائلهم إلى المخيمات في شمال غرب سوريا ظروفاً إنسانية و أزمات صحية و نفسية صعبة، إذ أن أولئك المهجرين والذين يقارب عددهم على 1.6 مليون نسمة من بينهم ما يقارب 680 ألف طفل يعيشون في مناطق ذات كثافة سكانية عالية وفي مخيمات تفتقر لأدنى مقومات الحياة.

وبالتزامن مع تلك الأزمات يعيش سكان المخيمات في الوقت الحالي أزمةً صحيةً صعبةً بعد موجة جديدة لوباء فيروس كورونا “كوفيد-19” وخشية أن تتحول تلك المخيمات لبؤرة يتفشى فيها الوباء بعد ازدياد أعداد الإصابات اليومية بالفيروس وفي ظل ضعف مشاريع النظافة و الصرف الصحي ومياه الشرب فيها.

كما يعاني الأطفال من صعوبات في تلقي التعليم إذ أن معظم تلك المخيمات لا تحتوي على مدارس أو مراكز تعليمية، وتقدر منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة “يونيسيف” أعداد الأطفال في سوريا خارج مقاعد الدراسة ب 3.2 مليون طفل، في حين تقول وحدة تنسيق الدعم أن 1127 مخيم في الشمال السوري لا تحتوي على مدارس، وسط صعوبة الأهالي في تأمين التعليم لأطفالهم.

وتعتبر تلك الأزمات بالإضافة ل مشاكل عديدة منها فقدان أحد الوالدين إذ أن آلاف الأطفال في مخيمات النازحين يعيشون مع أحد الأبوين أو بدونهما بعد فقدانهم بسبب الحرب، بالإضافة للتشرد والفقر وسوء الأوضاع المعيشية سبباً أساسياً في سوء الصحة النفسية للأطفال في مخيمات النازحين و دخولهم في أزمات نفسية كبيرة.

استجابة منظمة بنفسج لدعم صحة الأطفال النفسية في شمال غرب سوريا

تسعى منظمة بنفسج من خلال مشاريعها في دعم الصحة النفسية للأطفال في شمال غرب سوريا خاصةً في مخيمات النازحين للاستجابة للأطفال الذين يعانون من مشاكل وأزمات نفسية، والذين زادت الحرب و التشرد والفقر من أزماتهم سوءاً.

وبلغ عدد الأطفال الذين تلقوا على الأقل 5 جلسات من جلسات الدعم النفسي الاجتماعي في مدينة إدلب 1325 طفل وذلك عن طريق مشاريع بنفسج للحماية والتي تتضمن أنشطة الدعم النفسي الاجتماعي حيث يتم تزويد الأطفال بأنشطة ترفيهية لحماية الطفل في المواقع المستهدفة من قبل ميسري PSS الذين يستخدمون العديد مو موضوعات أنشطة PSS.

(1) اليونسيف

(2) الشبكة السورية لحقوق الإنسان

(3) صحيفة الاندبدنت

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلبات المقابلات الصحفية، يرجى التواصل مع: [email protected]

الصندوق العام

$
Personal Info

Donation Total: 25.00$