The North Syrian camps during the winter

The Syrians face another winter while they are still in the camps, as this scene is repeated every year until it becomes familiar to the world.

The displaced are standing helplessly in the face of frost and floods, with the inability of humanitarian organizations working in northern Syria to provide heating materials and winter clothes for about two million displaced people.

Ten years of the same suffering.

It is not the first year of cold for millions of Syrians, as this year was not better, especially with the repercussions of the Covid-19 pandemic that Syrians have been suffering from so far, and the inability of the population to meet their needs due to high prices on the other hand.

The mud that covers the camp lands makes moving between the tents requires winter clothing requirements that most of the camp residents cannot secure, in addition to the fact that the tents they inhabit are not strong enough to deter rainwater and mud intrusion into them,

A large percentage of the tents are unfit for habitation after they were torn as a result of harsh weather factors, as the number of tents damaged by the heavy rain reached 2,145 tents, and the number of families directly affected by the rain reached 1,842 families, while the total number of affected families reached 3,742 families, and 470 families were forced to move inside the camp due to the damage to their tents, according to a report published by the Syrian Response Coordinators organization this month.

The “ship” tent drowned its inhabitants

In the Syrian camps, there are many types of tents, the most commonly used and the worst of all is the “ship” tent with its low ends, it does not have anchor columns and the floor cannot be isolated in it. The ship, which shelters many families living in the camps in the north of Syria, is distributed by most of the organizations operating there. However, it does not protect from the heat of summer or the cold of winter. It traps the air inside and does not last a long life. During the years of asylum, these tents were one of the most vulnerable types of tents to fires throughout the year and were not capable of repelling winter attacks from storms and rain, which pushed many of its residents into the open.

According to a study conducted by the Coordination and Support Unit on 680 camps in the governorates of Idlib and Aleppo, the results showed that 30% of the tents need rain insulators, while 20% of them need floor insulators.

Fabrics and nylon bags, heating materials in northern Syria

Among the needs of northern Syria came the need for heating fuel, followed by the need for heaters of all kinds (diesel, firewood, coal, kerosene). According to the same study of the Coordination and Support Unit, it was found that 70% of the camps covered by the study did not have heaters distributed during the last winter.

Obtaining fuel in the winter season is the main obstacle for Syrian families, at a time when families suffer from weak purchasing power and scarcity of natural resources. It is worth noting that cutting trees to obtain firewood for heating has become a threat to the agricultural sector in the Idlib countryside.

Under these circumstances, family’s resort to the use of nylon and worn-out fabrics to provide warmth for their children despite the risks involved, such as the constantly occurring fires and the resulting casualties. In 2019, three children died due to fires that broke out inside the camps, while a family of 4 members (two children and their parents) suffocated due to the use of materials not suitable for heating.

Families still fear death as a result of the severe cold. as the snowstorm “Al-Huda” that struck the Middle East in 2015, killing 15 displaced people in Syrian camps, in 2016, 3 deaths of newborns were recorded, in 2017 and 2018, 3 deaths per year were recorded as a result of the cold in the Syrian camps.

Violet Organization and its emergency response to rainstorms

After the recent storm that swept northern Syria, the rapid intervention team in Violet responded by distributing insulation materials, pillows, blankets, and shoes for children, in addition to suctioning rainwater from the camps and creating a cross-bridge so that the people could cross to the other side.

The number of beneficiaries of the emergency responses in the “Kingo” camp reached 202 individuals, including 6 persons with disabilities, while the number of beneficiaries in the “Markaz” camp reached 580, including 16 special cases, in addition to 89 families, in the “Rabi’ Ma’asaruna” camp, the number of beneficiaries reached 624 people, including 69 special cases,  in the camps of “Jabal Al-Zawiya” the number of beneficiaries reached 282, including 3 special cases, in “Al-Rahma” camp in the “Sheikh Bahr” area, 502 people benefited, including 64 special cases.

This year, Violet Organization launched a warm winter campaign for its sixth year in a row, intending to provide winter clothes (coats-wear-shoes) and heating materials to the needy, in addition to distributing emergency winter bags to provide non-food winter materials (blankets – mattresses) in the event of any emergency.

 

  1. Coordination and support unit
  2. Syria Response Coordinators

For more information or press interviews, please contact: [email protected]

Support us

$
Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: 100.00$

Secured Payment

مخيمات الشمال السوري في فصل الشتاء

حالٌ متكرر  يداهم مخيمات الشمال السوري في فصل الشتاء دون سابق إنذار، فيقف النازحون عاجزون أمام صقيع برده وفيضانات أمطاره مع عجزٍ للمنظمات الإنسانية العاملة في شمال سوريا عن تأمين مواد التدفئة والكسوة الشتوية لما يقارب مليوني نازح. 

عشر سنوات من المعاناة ذاتها.. 

ليس العام الأول من الألم والبرد لملايين السوريين في فصل الشتاء، إذ باتت هذه المعاناة متكررة الحدوث مع كل شتاء، هذا العام لم يكن أفضل حالاً في الوقت الذي يعاني فيه السوريون من آثار تداعيات وباء كوفيد-19 إلى الآن من جهة ومن ارتفاع الأسعار بالتزامن مع عجز السكان عن تأمين احتياجاتهم من جهة أخرى. 

الطين الذي يغطي أراضي المخيم ومياه الأمطار التي تجعل الحركة بين الخيام أمراً يحتاج تجهيزات من الكسوة الشتوية التي لا يستطيع معظم سكان المخيمات تأمينها، عدا عن أن الخيام التي يسكنوها ليست كافية لرد مياه الأمطار والطين من أن يتسللا داخلها، 

غير أن نسبة كبيرة من الخيام غير صالحة للسكن بسبب اهترائها من العوامل الجوية حيث بلغ عدد الخيام التي طالتها مياه الأمطار مؤخراً وسببت فيها أضرار ملموسة 2145 خيمة، في حين بلغ عدد العائلات المتضررة من الهطولات المطرية بشكل مباشر 1842 عائلة، بينما وصل عدد كامل العائلات المتضررة إلى  3742 عائلة، بينما اضطرت 470 عائلة إلى النزوح داخل المخيم بسبب الضرر الذي أصاب خيمهم بحسب تقرير نشرته منظمة منسقوا استجابة سوريا الشهر الحالي. 

خيمة “السفينة” تغرق أهلها

في المخيمات السورية هناك أنواع عديدة للخيمة ذاتها، أكثرها استعمالاً وأشدها سوءاً هي خيمة “السفينة” ذات الأطراف المنخفضة والتي لا تملك عواميد تثبيت ولا يمكن عزل الأرضية فيها بطريقة محكمة، السفينة التي تأوي الكثير من العائلات القاطنة في مخيمات الشمال السوري والتي يعتمد توزيعها غالبية المنظمات العاملة هناك، لكنها لا تقيهم حر الصيف ولا برد الشتاء تحبس داخلها الهواء ولا تدوم عمراً طويلاً، وخلال سنوات اللجوء كانت من أكثر أنواع الخيام عرضة للحرائق على مدار العام غير أنها توصف بالغير مقاومة عند الهجمات الشتوية أثناء العواصف والأمطار والمنخفضات الجوية، ما دفعت الكثير من سكانها إلى العراء  عند أول منخفض جوي قاسي.

وبحسب دراسة أجرتها وحدة التنسيق والدعم على 680 مخيماً في محافظتي إدلب وحلب أظهرت النتائج أن 30% من الخيم تحتاج إلى عوازل مطرية، بينما تحتاج 20% منها إلى عوازل أرضية.

اقرأ أيضاً.. مخيماتُ النازحين في فصل الشتاء

قماش وأكياس نايلون.. مواد التدفئة في الشمال السوري: 

على قائمة أولويات الاحتياجات لسكان الشمال السوري  جاءت الحاجة إلى توزيع وقود التدفئة للنازحين، بينما جاءت في المرتبة الثانية الحاجة إلى تأمين المدافئ بكافة أشكالها (المازوت والحطب والفحم والكاز) وفق ذات الدراسة التي أجرتها وحدة التنسيق والدعم، حيث أن 70% -من المخيمات التي أجريت الدراسة عليها- لم توزع فيها مدافئ للنازحين خلال الشتاء الماضي.

يشكل الحصول على الوقود في فصل الشتاء العائق الأساسي للعائلات السورية كافة، في الوقت الذي تعاني فيه الأسر من ضعف القدرة الشرائية من ناحية ومن شح الموارد الطبيعية من ناحية أخرى، فيما بات قطع الأشجار للحصول على الحطب يشكل خطراً على قطاع الزراعة في ريف إدلب. 

تحت هذه الظروف تلجأ العائلات لاستخدام النايلون والقماش المهترئ لتوفير الدفء لأطفالهم رغم مخاطر المواد المستخدمة، في حين يبّلغ بشكل مستمر عن اندلاع الحرائق في الخيم ووقوع إصابات وضحايا، ففي عام 2019 فارق 3 أطفال الحياة بسبب الحرائق ضمن المخيمات، فيما فارقت الحياة عائلة مكونة من 4 أفراد (طفلين ووالديهما) اختناقاً بعد استخدامهم مواداً تالفة لتأمين الدفء.

تستمر مخاوف العائلات من عدم توفير مواد التدفئة من حصول وفيات نتيجة البرد القارس كما حصل في 2015 عندما ضربت العاصفة الثلجية “هدى” الشرق الأوسط والتي أدت إلى وفاة 15 نازحاً في المخيمات السورية متجمدين من البرد، بينما سجلت 3 وفيات لأطفال حديثي الولادة في مخيمات الشمال السوري عام 2016 بعد تجمدهم من البرد، وفي عامي 2017 و 2018 سجلت 3 حالات وفاة لكل سنة نتيجة البرد في المخيمات السورية. 

بنفسج والاستجابات الطارئة للعواصف المطرية: 

بعد العاصفة الأخيرة التي اجتاحت الشمال السوري مؤخراً قام فريق التدخل السريع في بنفسج بالاستجابة الطارئة وتوزيع العوازل والوسادات والبطانيات وأحذية الأطفال بالإضافة إلى شفط مياه الأمطار من المخيمات وإنشاء جسر النجاة ليتمكن الأهالي من العبور إلى الطرف الآخر نتيجة تجمع المياه. 

بلغ عدد المستفيدين من الاستجابات الطارئة في مخيم الكنجو 202 فرداً بينهم 6 أشخاص من ذوي الإعاقة، في حين بلغ المستفيدين في مخيم المركز 580 بينهم 16 حالة خاصة، بينما استفادت 89 عائلة من تلك الاستجابات الطارئة، وفي مخيم ربيع معيصرونة وصل عدد المستفيدين إلى 624 شخصاً بينهم 69 حالة خاصة، كما استفاد 282 فرداً في مخيمات جبل الزاوية بينهم 3 حالات خاصة، وفي مخيم الرحمة في منطقة الشيخ بحر استفاد 502 فرداً منهم 64 حالة خاصة. 

 

اقرأ أيضاً.. بين الشتات والشتاء.. كيف يستجيب متطوعو بنفسج

أطلقت منظمة بنفسج هذا العام حملة شتاء دافئ للعام السادس على التوالي بهدف توفير الملابس الشتوية (جاكيت-لبس-حذاء) ومواد التدفئة للمحتاجين، بالإضافة إلى توزيع الحقائب الشتوية الطارئة لتوفير مواد شتوية غير غذائية (بطانيات – فرش) عند حدوث أي طارئ لا قدر الله.

  1. وحدة التنسيق والدعم
  2. منسقوا استجابة سوريا

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلبات المقابلات الصحفية، يرجى التواصل مع: [email protected]

الصندوق العام

$
Personal Info

مبلغ التبرع 25.00$

Secured Payment